£7.495
FREE Shipping

The Mysteries

The Mysteries

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

For fans of Calvin and Hobbes, I don't know if you'll find the same comedic wonderment, but there is something solidly philosophical in THE MYSTERIES that longtime readers of the comics will recognize. Graphic novels usually aren’t, and this isn’t even what I would think of as a graphic novel, really.

The Mysteries has the shape of a children’s book, but its tone, style, and message are decidedly for older readers. In response, a king bids his knights to capture a mystery, so that perhaps its “secrets could be learned” and its “powers could be thwarted.My ten-year-old daughter makes a detailed argument (it involves bicycles, ropes, and scratch marks) that Hobbes is indisputably real; millions of us have the more decisively illusory experience of having grown up with Watterson.

There's no difficult language or frightening images, there's nothing worse than say, Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. The woods, the streams, the snowy hills the friends career off—the natural world is a space as enchanted and real as Hobbes himself. For the book's illustrations, Watterson and caricaturist John Kascht worked together for several years in unusually close collaboration.Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement and Privacy Policy and Cookie Statement and Your California Privacy Rights. Now, I’ll put The Mysteries in the Little Free Library outside of my house in the hopes that someone else will go on a journey of their own. Watterson has written, “Whenever the strip got ponderous, I put Calvin and Hobbes in their wagon and send them over a cliff. The characters in “Krazy Kat” also didn’t age or really change much: Krazy Kat is a black cat forever in love with Ignatz, a white mouse who serially hits Krazy with bricks, an action that Krazy misinterprets as a sign of love. Schulz illustrates the conflict in his life, not in a self-justifying or vengeful manner but with a larger human understanding that implicates himself in the sad comedy,” Watterson wrote.

His dad says the story has no end, because Calvin and Hobbes will go on writing it “tomorrow and every day after. Only one reality in “Calvin and Hobbes” is drawn with a level of detail comparable to the scenes of Calvin’s imagination: the natural world. The New Yorker may earn a portion of sales from products that are purchased through our site as part of our Affiliate Partnerships with retailers. This collaboration was very unlikely to succeed because their aesthetics are vastly different—yet they hammered away at the idea for years and finally produced this landmark volume.The knight carries a huge axe and makes a strange proposal, in such a way that the honor of the whole court feels at stake.

Or you might say insufficiently fearful: the woods are cut down, the air becomes acrid, and eventually the land looks prehistoric, desiccated, hostile to life. I can't say I knew what I was getting from the description or the art preview, but I had prepared myself for something different than the expected material of the past. think of The Mysteries as a one-of-a-kind experience from Bill Watterson and John Kascht that you can pick off of your shelf whenever in need of wonder and mystery. It would be oversimplifying to say that Herriman’s background fuelled “Krazy Kat,” just as it would be oversimplifying to say that Schulz was forever a Charlie Brown—but it would be delusional to think that the persistent situations and sentiments of those comics weren’t inflected by their makers’ lives. To me, the ending follows from both good behavior and enchantment—good behavior being something Calvin despises, and enchantment being the realm in which he is king.

It's delightfully existential and, while the style obviously differs extremely from Watterson's incredible original comics, his underlying philosophical and nihilist bent remain. This makes for rather bleak reading, especially in these humorless and slightly menacing charcoal drawings.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop